Eric Fuss Undergraduate Scholarship in History

Applications open
9am, Monday 15 January 2024
Applications close
5pm, Friday 1 March 2024
Payment per year
$10,000 plus a fee remission for the recipient's contribution in a Commonwealth Supported Place
3 years
Undergraduate program of study in Arts majoring in History
Australian Citizens
Australian Permanent Residents
Permanent Humanitarian Visa Holders
Type of Scholarship
Financial Need
Available In
Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics (ABLE)
Available To
Commencing Students

Eric Fuss was an alumnus of the University of Adelaide, graduating with a BA in 1967. As an English teacher who lived in Burra, he was greatly admired as a quiet achiever and made a huge contribution to Burra’s written history.  Over many years he generously shared his knowledge about the town and district’s history with researchers and was the author of many publications.

To be eligible to apply for this scholarship you must:

  • Be commencing an undergraduate program of study in Arts majoring in History
  • Be an Australian Citizen, Permanent Resident of Australia or holder of a permanent humanitarian visa
  • Be enrolled on a full time basis in a Commonwealth Supported Place
  • Demonstrate you are in financial need*

* Applicants must demonstrate financial need and provide supporting documentary evidence at the time of application, e.g. details of income tested Commonwealth income support payment, such as Youth Allowance, Austudy, ABSTUDY benefits, or other details of their financial circumstances.

* Evidence of Tertiary Access Payment (TAP) application or approval does not demonstrate financial need.

Selection of the successful candidate will be made according to:

  • Financial need
  • Answers to questions on the application form

Important Information:

  • You must meet all of the above listed criteria to be eligible to apply
  • The Scholarship must be taken up in the year in which it is offered
  • Students must not hold any other scholarship either administered by the University of Adelaide or external organisations.